Rafael Nadal`s New Book Gets Bad Review

Although I have not read Rafael Nadal`s new autobiography, “Rafa,”  I stumbled across a few of the reviews on the new book.

In a review posted on tennischick.net, the author is not impressed by the book in which she says, “The problem with this book is that the language of the Rafa chapters is hopelessly inauthentic and unbelievable. Rafa’s voice is just not there. I don’t know who this person is who is speaking in the first person on his behalf, but he sounds nothing like Rafa. The real Rafa should sue him because he is fraud.”

While reading the review I found out that the book was co-written by Rafael Nadal and John Carlin, John Carlin actually has a Master’s degree in English Language and Literature from Oxford University. The problem is that Rafael Nadal does not have an English Language and Literature degree and in his interviews, it is apparent that English isn’t his first language.

English not being the pro`s first language is not a bad thing, I actually just wrote a school paper on how language and accent are a huge part of a persons` culture and you shouldn`t “tame” your native tongue. The problem, according to this review, is that you can tell that is isn`t Rafael`s true voice, it is Carlin`s.

The author of this book states that, “Nowhere in this book could I detect the authentic voice of Rafael Nadal. He’s nowhere to be found.”

Despite the  negative review I read on this book, I am still planning on reading it myself… that is, when I have some extra time! I am curious to read and see if I can find Rafa`s voice anywhere in the autobiography and from what I understand, his story is extremely interesting.

About courtneytennis760

Courtney Sloan is a freelance writer and a student at Mira Costa College studying mass media. As a writer with a passion for tennis, health and fitness, she has made it her mission to find helpful information about tennis products and other important issues and share them with the community. Be sure to find her on Facebook and Twitter ! View all posts by courtneytennis760

Leave a Reply

